Tag Archives: Facebook privacy

Facebook new features 2011

Facebook 3 New Changes 2011: Better Privacy, Unwanted tagging, Past Post Visibility

[ad#chaapsv2-top]

Facebook has recently rolled out new changes to its interface in 2011. These 3 new changes consists of Better Privacy control when sharing posts, Remove unwanted tags of you, Change the visibility of your post after it has been published.

These changes hit to me just today, perhaps Facebook is going alphabetically in releasing its new changes. So lets get down and review these changes one by one. In addition you can also add location to your posts and tag people who you were with then.

FIRST CHANGE: Post status updates to a specific group of people.

While posting a status on Facebook, you now have the option to choose whom you want it to see. Just press the small gears icon in the lower right corner of the status box. While posting an update, choose from Public (Everybody), Friends (Your Friends only), Custom (Specific People only). Now your status message is seen only by the people who are eligible to see it.

Facebook new feature 2011 better privacy control

No need to worry if you did a mistake in selecting the visible persons. You can change it even after you have published a post. Just select the gears icon and change it back again.

SECOND CHANGE: Get rid of unwanted Photo tags.

This is the feature lot of people were concerned about on Facebook. So how to get rid of them, here’s what you have to do.

Go to Privacy Settings and then click on Custom box.

Facebook new feature 2011 remove tagging


Now click Edit Settings in front of How Tags Work feature.

Facebook new feature 2011 remove tagging 2

Next click on Profile Review and turn it on.

Facebook new feature 2011 remove tagging 3

That’s it. Now whenever any of your Friends tags you in a Photo, you have got to approve them before they start displaying on your profile. As soon as a Friend tags you will receive a notification. After you click it you will be taken to the Wall tab where a sub-tab called Pending Posts will appear which will help you Approve or Disapprove the Photo tags. Easy isn’t it?

THIRD CHANGE: Change the visibility of your older posts.

Many a times we think whether to make this status Public or Private and later go with Public anyway. Facebook has now released a nice feature wherein you can change all of your older posts visibility to only your Friends. Don’t worry you wont need to sit the whole night and change the visibility for every specific post.

Facebook new feature 2011 manage post post visibility

 Just flyover to the Privacy Settings and click Manage Past Post Visibility where it says Limit the Audience for Past Posts. Then click on Confirm. That’s it, you are done.

NOTE: This feature cannot be undone. After you have clicked on Confirm there is no way back!

If you are looking to learn more about these features or see a short video tutorial by Facebook go here.

So these were the new Facebook changes in 2011 which we got to see. Comment if you liked this story and please share your views of how you feel about these new features with us. We would like to hear from each one of you. Do you like em?

via CNET

[ad#chaapsv2-bottom]

Facebook introduces three awesome features

Today, when I was going through Facebook’s official blog I came across three important, much needed updates coming to Facebook. Here is a brief description of each of them:

Facebook introducing three brand new features

1. Facebook Groups with a overhauled, Brand new look

According to Facebook,

It’s a simple way to stay up to date with small groups of your friends and to share things with only them in a private space. The default setting is Closed, which means only members see what’s going on in a group.
From this space, you can quickly post photos, make plans and keep up with ongoing conversations. You can also group chat with members who are online right now. You can even use each group as an email list to quickly share things when you’re not on Facebook. The net effect is your whole experience is organized around spaces of the people you care most about.

2. Download your personal Information

You can download all your personal information ie., your messages, wall posts, photos, status updates and profile info in just a few clicks and use it elsewhere. You can also access the copy of the information downloaded – To protect your privacy you need to enter your password and security questions before accessing a copy of the downloaded information.

3. New dashboard for applications you use

According to the Facebook Blog,

A new dashboard is being launched to give you visibility into how applications use your data to personalize your experience. As you start having more social and personalized experiences across the web, it’s important that you can verify exactly how other sites are using your information to make your experience better.
As this rolls out, in your Facebook privacy settings, you will have a single view of all the applications you’ve authorized and what data they use. You can also see in detail when they last accessed your data. You can change the settings for an application to make less information available to it, or you can even remove it completely.

You can view this video for more information:

Facebook was criticized much for it’s privacy tweaks and all the above updates seem to be an alleged reply to all the critics. I am much impressed by these new features, How ’bout you?